Destiny Discover
Annual awards celebrate “Excellence in Catholic Education”

“Next to excellence is the appreciation of it.” ~ William Makepiece Thackeray

Over the next couple of weeks, more than 100 students throughout the Hamilton-Wentworth Catholic District School Board will be recognized for excellence in the areas of academics, athletics, Christian service, Catholic leadership, STEM, and the arts.

The “Celebrating Excellence in Catholic Education” awards were established several years ago to recognize and honour students and teams who, through their talents and hard work, demonstrate excellence and who, by their commitment, serve as role models to other students in their schools and communities.

“Awards and scholarships motivate and encourage students to bring their energy, enthusiasm and generosity to the task of building a Catholic community within their schools and shaping the vision of Catholic education within the Hamilton-Wentworth Catholic school community,” said Chairperson Patrick J. Daly.

“We welcome this opportunity to publicly acknowledge the many and significant accomplishments of our students and teams over the past year.”

Committing to excellence is one of the most important elements of success in life, added Director of Education David Hansen.

“And while the accomplishments are yours,” he congratulated the students, “never forget that there’s a team behind you that lifts you up.”

“Your success began at home and is part of your family life, for sure, but was also nurtured by your faith, supported by your school, and most importantly, was embraced by you.”

This year, the awards are presented in four categories: Board awards, Living the Spirit Awards, Science & Athletics Awards, and Special Presentations to Robotics Clubs and Individuals.

Congratulations to all the recipients.


St. Thomas Aquinas Centre for the Arts Foundation Scholarship

Nicole Martin – Bishop Ryan CSS
Hannah Katherine – St. Mary CSS

James L. Daly Award of Excellence
Elementary - Klara Pasalic – Immaculate Conception CES
Secondary - Sophia Schneider – St. John Henry Newman CSS

Presidents’ Council Bursary
Isabella Micci – St. John Henry Newman CSS

Sister Maria Cordis Music Award
Bishop Ryan Feeder Family:
Elena Glavic – St. David CES
Bishop Tonnos Feeder Family: Kayla Rennie – St. Ann (Ancaster) CES
St. Jean de Brébeuf Feeder Family: Jackson Wilson – Sacred Heart of Jesus CES
St. John Henry Newman Feeder Family: Dominick Przerwa – Our Lady of Peace CES
St. Mary Feeder Family: Evan Ryan – St. Joseph CES
St. Thomas More Feeder Family: Emilio Leard – St. Vincent de Paul CES

Jim Hansen Spirit of Community Award
Maria Merlos-Ortiz – St. Ann (Hamilton) CES
Pia Lapadula – St. Kateri Tekakwitha CES
Giancarlo Bozzo – St. Jean de Brébeuf CSS
Carter Sabourin – St. Mary CSS


Jorge Avila Cruz – Annunciation of Our Lord CES
Kyle Muella – Blessed Sacrament CES
Hridya Rajesh – Canadian Martyrs CES
Cristina Di Felice – Corpus Christi CES
Kayden Newton – Guardian Angels CES
Karla Penner – Holy Name of Jesus CES
Oriana Iacono – Holy Name of Mary CES
Jeffrey Ramos – Immaculate Conception CES
Marco Kagianis – Immaculate Heart of Mary CES
Victoria Caruso – Our Lady of Lourdes CES
Rylie Griffiths – Our Lady of Mount Carmel CES
Michela Cutulle – Our Lady of Peace CES
Isabella Vitulli – Our Lady of the Assumption CES
Anthony Morcone – Regina Mundi CES
Andrea Lambert – Sacred Heart of Jesus CES
Peter Ojelade – St. Agnes CES
Bella Lico – St. Ann (Ancaster) CES
Jamie Hunt – St. Ann (Hamilton) CES
Sierra Riederer – St. Anthony Daniel CES
Grace Jun – St. Augustine CES
Kyle Hall – St. Bernadette CES
Ava Trombetta – St. Clare of Assisi CES
Amy Geenen – St. David CES
Eli Bain – St. Eugene CES
Ella Maiorano – St. Francis Xavier CES
Carina Di Gregorio – St. Gabriel CES
Haiden Tyleman – St. James the Apostle CES
Emily Herrera – St. Joachim CES
Sofia Curcio – St. John Paul II CES
Carmela Cooper – St. John the Baptist CES
Connor Longley – St. Joseph CES
Alizayah Neary – St. Kateri Tekakwitha CES
Olivia Jolie – St. Lawrence CES
Taylor Engelen – St. Luke CES
Leo Ammendolia – St. Margaret Mary CES
Chiara Porco – St. Marguerite d’Youville CES
Joseph Antonio Cino – St. Mark CES
Hayden Kuehnen – St. Martin of Tours CES
Fiona Resovac – St. Matthew CES
Jennifer Nguyen – St. Michael CES
Kyle Ellurig – St. Patrick CES
Anderson Koul – St. Paul CES
Iris Nicolae – St. Teresa of Avila CES
Mary Bozzo – St. Teresa of Calcutta CES
Abby Long – St. Thérèse of Lisieux CES
Chloe Pender – St. Thomas the Apostle CES
Sophia Bianchi – St. Vincent de Paul CES
Raymart Corpuz – Sts. Peter and Paul CES
Grace Ann Cupido Lamont – Bishop Ryan CSS
Samantha Newton – Bishop Tonnos CSS
Chiara Fricano – Cathedral HS
Ricardo Caicedo Vanegas – St. Jean de Brébeuf CSS
Joshua Presta – St. John Henry Newman CSS
Claudia McComb – St. Mary CSS
Aleena Joseph – St. Thomas More CSS


International Science and Engineering Fair Trip Awards

Becca Barbera – Cathedral HS
Joseph Saturnino – Bishop Ryan CSS

Mike Morton Bursary
Samuel Agyemeng – St. James the Apostle CES
Omario Fraser – St. Teresa of Calcutta CES
Buleli Exause – Cathedral HS
Julia Chiarot – St. Thomas More CSS


Celt-X Robotics Team – Bishop Ryan CSS

Innovation Challenge – Advancement to Semi-Finals
Game Design Challenge – Concept Award
Infinite Recharge at Home – Autonomous Award

Victoria Angelini – Bishop Ryan CSS
McMaster FIRST Robotics Scholarship
Finalist for the Canadian Women in STEM Scholarship

Emma Martino – Bishop Ryan CSS
The Pilot: Engineering Applicant Challenge - Most Sustainable Design

MakeShift Robotics Team – St. Mary CSS
FIRST Canada RechargeYourBot – Sprint Challenge Winner
FIRST Game Design Challenge – Imagery Award
FTC Innovation Challenge – Finalist
FTC Qualifier 1 – Controls Award
FTC Provincial Championship – Motivate Award
FTC Provincial Championship – Promote Award

Annual awards celebrate “Excellence in Catholic Education”